The history of Telangana state is filled with tales of bravery of the Kakatiya dynasty kings. This reflected in the impregnable forts and palaces that were built during their reign. The strong ramparts of such massive forts still reverberate with the legends and stories, while attracting heritage explorers who visit these forts to have a first-hand experience of the glorious history.
Ramagiri Khilla in Peddapalli district of Telangana is a massive fort complex of the Kakatiya dynasty that is impregnable to this day. The Ramagiri fort is situated on a hillock overlooking the spectacular confluence of Manair and Godavari rivers. The view from this hillock cannot be described in simple words!
History of the Fort
Ramagiri Khilla was believed to have been built during 12th century by the Kakatiya rulers of Warangal region. It was administered by the Qutub Shahi rulers from 1518 to 1687. In 1656, the ruler of Golconda, Abdullah Qutb Shah, entrusted the fort to his son-in-law, who was believed to be one of Aurangzeb’s sons. The fort eventually fell to the British Raj in the year 1791, followed by the Asaf Jahis.
The fort, which is built impressively in stone has several bastions, that occupy a large area. These bastions are octagonal in shape and there are four forge-welded cannons that have been stationed here on the masonry battlements. The battlements are 12 meters in height, which also comprises a section of the massive fort walls. Mud plaster has been used in thick layers which include a mixture of mud, reeds, lime as well as hair and blood of animals.
The fort also boasts of seven elaborate gateways, Horse stable Chowkis, Elephant shed, and numerous wells, namely Topubavi, Haribavi, Nallakayyabavi, Pasarubavi, Achchammabavi and Ammagaribavi.
The fort is quite popular for its priceless mythological relics. It is also believed that the Pandavas spent some period here, during their exile.
Many believe that the footprints which are seen here belong to Lord Rama and Sita Devi. According to local legend, the Shiva Lingam of Ramagiri fort was consecrated by Lord Rama. It is also home to Sita Ramalayam. There are many shallow pits in the fort, which were believed to have been used by Sita to store cooking materials.
The magnificent fort is located on a picturesque hillock, which is considered a key hotspot on the map of Telangana Archaeology. The pleasing environment of this place has also earned the hillock another name “Aramgiri”, which means the hill of comfort.
This hillock also has a small pond, called Sitamma Kolanu. The waterfalls cascading from the hillock is known as ‘Pandavalanka’. Devotees visit the temple during Sravana Masam to worship Lord Shiva and Sri Rama, and they take a holy dip in the Sitamma Kolanu as well as Pandavalanka waterfalls.
The Ramagiri fort area is also a land of rare biodiversity with luxurious growth of Ayurvedic herbs, medicinal plants and other useful herbs and shrubs, which attracts botanists and explorers.
How to reach
The fort is located on the Karimnagar-Manthani highway, about 2 km from the village of Begumpet. Ramagiri Khilla is accessible by bus from Warangal, Peddapalli, Mancherial, Peddapalli and Karimnagar. Peddapalli station located on the New Delhi-Kazipet line, is nearly 20 km from the fort. It is the nearest railway station.