Press enter to see results or esc to cancel.

Grand Yesteryear Heritage of Peddapalli

The history of Telangana state is filled with tales of bravery of the Kakatiya dynasty kings. This reflected in the impregnable forts and palaces that were built during their reign. The strong ramparts of such massive forts still reverberate with the legends and stories, while attracting heritage explorers who visit these forts to have a first-hand experience of the glorious history.

Ramagiri Khilla in Peddapalli district of Telangana is a massive fort complex of the Kakatiya dynasty that is impregnable to this day. The Ramagiri fort is situated on a hillock overlooking the spectacular confluence of Manair and Godavari rivers. The view from this hillock cannot be described in simple words!

History of the Fort

Ramagiri Khilla was believed to have been built during 12th century by the Kakatiya rulers of Warangal region. It was administered by the Qutub Shahi rulers from 1518 to 1687. In 1656, the ruler of Golconda, Abdullah Qutb Shah, entrusted the fort to his son-in-law, who was believed to be one of Aurangzeb’s sons. The fort eventually fell to the British Raj in the year 1791, followed by the Asaf Jahis.

Architectural Features of Ramagiri Khilla

The fort, which is built impressively in stone has several bastions, that occupy a large area. These bastions are octagonal in shape and there are four forge-welded cannons that have been stationed here on the masonry battlements. The battlements are 12 meters in height, which also comprises a section of the massive fort walls. Mud plaster has been used in thick layers which include a mixture of mud, reeds, lime as well as hair and blood of animals.

The fort also boasts of seven elaborate gateways, Horse stable Chowkis, Elephant shed, and numerous wells, namely Topubavi, Haribavi, Nallakayyabavi, Pasarubavi, Achchammabavi and Ammagaribavi.

Mythological Prominence

The fort is quite popular for its priceless mythological relics. It is also believed that the Pandavas spent some period here, during their exile.
Many believe that the footprints which are seen here belong to Lord Rama and Sita Devi. According to local legend, the Shiva Lingam of Ramagiri fort was consecrated by Lord Rama. It is also home to Sita Ramalayam. There are many shallow pits in the fort, which were believed to have been used by Sita to store cooking materials.

How to reach

The fort is located on the Karimnagar-Manthani highway, about 2 km from the village of Begumpet.

Comments

Comments are disabled for this post